Short Story #1

My best friend and I are living as neighbors. She is married to her crush and is really happy with her husband and life in general. My jeeju is a very good looking person and I always tease her saying he will run away someday not being able to tolerate her.

And the scene is my wedding eve.

She and I are sitting in a room and discussing how my first night was supposed to happen. Btw I’m having a love marriage too, to the one and only idiot in my life.

She was advising me regarding what and whatnots as she is more experienced in the field. Though it was not my first time, I still felt nervous around him nude and the only two people I could share this with are my bestie and my idiot.

As the advice was going on, my phone starts to vibrate, and it was him. My idiot! I pick up the phone and I hear him breathing hard and talking in hushed whispers, naturally, I was bound to have the bout of nervousness. I ask him if everything was alright, he says he is perfect and then I ask the obvious question, and his reply was as follows:

“Ask her to go back home, I need to show you something.”

I was really shocked, nobody was supposed to know that my bestie is in my room, not even my parents. She had slipped into my room when they had gone outside and she was the only visitor I had the entire day. So I ask him where he was. He replied, “come out to your balcony”.

There he stood, with the tallness that overwhelms and the childlike eyes. His lips broke into a smile as he saw me and came forward to pull me into a tight hug, one that merges our bodies into a single entity. He pressed his lips onto my forehead. On seeing my bestie come out, he smiled at her but held me close to him, like he was saying, “she’s mine now, not yours”

She immediately understood that he had intentions and she withdrew downwards. She’s very understanding. As soon as she left, I started to flood him with questions like “what are you doing?” And “why are you here?” And “what if someone catches you here now?”. As usual,l he just placed his lips on mine to shut me. No replies. Just a kiss.

He pulled me and took me up the stairs to the open terrace above. I was never the romantic type, nor was he. We always had the most idiotic of conversations or else the comforting silence when I stare at him. And knowing him, I thought he was up to his old tricks.

He had brought two stools and put it on the terrace beforehand. He sat on one and pulled me onto his lap, I asked him what he wants now, at this point when I was going to be his forever.

He replied, “look at the moon”.

I looked and keeping my eyes at it said, “what’s there to look at it, it comes every night and goes every morning before the sun”.

He looked at my face and said, “idiot, that is like you to me”.

Now, I clearly felt lost. And he sensed it as usual. He always knows the slightest change on my face.

“Idiot, you come to me every night and go away every morning. The only time I talk to you openly is at night, in my dreams. In the morning, I have other girls to attend to but at night it’s only you”

That probably is the only time he was ever romantic. Other than in bed.

I slept off that night on his lap, with my head on his shoulder and arms around his neck.

¿KM¿

2 thoughts on “Short Story #1

Leave a comment